Seven from MIT elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2016

 In News

Prestigious honor society announces 213 new members this year.

Six MIT faculty members and the chair of the MIT Corporation are among 213 leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced this week.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

Those elected from MIT this year are:

  • Andrea Louise Campbell, the Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor of Political Science and head of the Department of Political Science;
  • Victor Chernozhukov, professor of economics;
  • Pavel Etingof, professor of mathematics;
  • John Gabrieli, the Grover M. Hermann Professor in Health Sciences and Technology;
  • Jacqueline Hewitt, professor of physics and director of the Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research;
  • Vann McGee, professor of philosophy; and
  • Robert Brian Millard ’73, chair of the MIT Corporation.

Original Article »

Start typing and press Enter to search